Home Africa Tanzania
flag-of-tanzaniaTanzania, which includes the islands of Pemba, Zanzibar and Mafia, is the biggest country in Eastern Africa, spanning a total 947,300 square kilometres (365,755 sq. mi). To put this into perspective, it is approximately three times the size of the U.S. state of new Mexico. Along with its neighbouring countries, Kenya and Uganda, it is the most famous safari destination in the world, and is where natures great spectacle, the Great Serengeti Migration, takes place. The highest mountain in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro, is also found here. Standing 19,341ft (5895m), it is bordered by three of the largest lakes on the continent: Lake Tanganyika, Lake Nyasa, and Lake Victoria.
Capital city: Dar es Salaam Highest Point: Kilimanjaro (19,341ft / 5895m) Lowest Point: Indian Ocean (0ft / 0m) Land Area: 342,009 sq. mi (885,800 sq. km) Water Area: 23,745 sq. mi (61,500 sq. km) Total Area: 365,755 sq. mi (947,300 sq. km) Coastline: 885 miles (1424 km) Bordering countries (8) Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Zambia


Zanzibar, which means “coast of blacks” is an archipelago situated 16-31mi (25-50km) east of mainland Tanzania. The archipelago consists of numerous small islands and...
Serengeti National Park

Serengeti National Park

As the sun glows golden in a deep red sky, a cloud of dust appears on the horizon. Soon, the whole of the savannah...
Ngorongoro crater

Ngorongoro Crater

The Ngorongoro Crater is a huge volcanic caldera, covering 100 sq. mi (260 sq. km) in Northern Tanzania. Formed approximately 2.5 million years ago...
Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro is a large, dormant volcano situated near the Kenyan border in Northern Tanzania, within the Kilimanjaro National Park. Both the largest free-standing...

Don't Miss