flag-of-austriaAustria is a small, landlocked country, which borders eight other countries in Central Europe. It is predominantly mountainous (Alps) in the west and south, though mostly flat/gently sloping along the eastern and northern margins. With a total area of just 83,859 sq. km (32,378 sq. mi), Austria is slightly smaller than the US state of Maine. There are seven national parks in Austria, which together comprise 2.8% of the total land area.
Capital city: Vienna Highest Point: Grossglockner (12,461ft / 3798m) Lowest Point: Neusiedler See (377ft / 115m) Land Area: 31,832 sq. mi (82,445 sq. km) Water Area: 550 sq. mi (1,426 sq. km) Total Area: 32,382 sq. mi (83,871 sq. km) Coastline: None, landlocked. Bordering countries (8) Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland
Eisriesenwelt Cave

Eisriesenwelt Cave

Tucked away inside the Hochkogel Mountain in Werfen, lies Eisriesenwelt, the largest ice cave in the world. Sprawling an enormous 26 miles (42km) through...
Krimml Waterfalls

Krimml Waterfalls (Krimmler Wasserfalle)

When it comes to waterfalls, it seems that size really matters. The Rhine Falls may claim the crown in terms of water volume but...