Home Asia Nepal
flag-of-nepalNepal is a small landlocked country in South Asia, home to eight of the ten tallest mountains in the world, including Mount Everest (29,035ft / 8850m), the tallest mountain in the world. In fact, the Himalayan Region features 202 mountains rising over 19,685ft (6000m). Whilst mountains and rugged hills cover approximately 75% of the country, Nepal’s Tarai region (south) is a low-lying stretch of land, falling as low as 230ft (70m) at Kanchan Kalan.
Capital city: Kathmandu Highest Point: Mount Everest (29,035ft / 8850m) Lowest Point: Kanchan Kalan (230ft / 70m) Land Area: 55,348 sq. mi (143,351 sq. km) Water Area: 1479 sq. mi (3830 sq. km) Total Area: 56,827 sq. mi (147,181 sq. km) Coastline: None, landlocked. Bordering countries (2) China, India
Dhaulagiri Mountain

Dhaulagiri Mountain

Dhaulagiri, the seventh highest mountain in the world, is situated in Nepal and forms part of the Dhaulagiri mountain range. Its name is derived...
Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park covers 443 square miles (1148 sq. km) in Nepal’s Khumbu region, and features the tallest peak in the world, Mount Everest,...
Mount Everest

Mount Everest

Mount Everest is the highest mountain in the world with a peak that soars 29,028ft (8847m) above sea level. Situated on the border of...
Kathmandu, Nepal


Kathmandu, Nepal Perched high in the Himalayas on the roof of the world, Nepal has long been regarded as a mysterious country steeped in history...

Don't Miss