Home South America Bolivia
flag-of-boliviaBolivia is the larger of the two landlocked countries in South America (the other being Paraguay). It has a colourful history, and was originally home to the innovative and powerful Aymara culture. A period of Inca control followed in the 15th century, before the Spanish conquered in the early 16th century, and began their unrelenting search for precious metals. After 300 years of colonial rule, Bolivia finally gained independence in 1809, after Simon Bolivar (Bolivia’s namesake) defeated the Spanish in battle.
Capital city: La Paz Highest Point: Nevado Sajama (21,463ft / 6542m) Lowest Point: Rio Paraguay (295ft / 90m) Land Area: 418,265 sq. mi (1,083,301 sq. km) Water Area: 5900 sq. mi (15,280 sq. km) Total Area: 424,165 sq. mi (1,098,581 sq. km) Bordering countries (5) Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Peru.
Three meandering mountain chains dominate the Bolivian landscape. In the West lies a long line of dormant volcanoes (Cordillera Occidental), whilst in the East there are a massive series of snow-capped granite mountains (Cordillera Oriental). The main geographical feature of Bolivia is the Altiplano, a highland plateau of the Andes sandwiched between the cordilleras. Here, there are several salt flats, including the famous Salar de Uyuni. At its northern end, the Altiplano also features the highest commercially navigable body of water in the world, Lake Titicaca. bolivia-south-america-map
Atacama Desert

Atacama Desert

The Atacama Desert covers a total area of 40,541 sq. mi (105,000 sq. km), stretching 600mi (1000km) from southern Peru into northern Chile. Officially...
Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni is the worlds largest salt flat, spanning 4086 square miles (10,582 sq. km) in south-western Bolivia. Unlike traditional deserts, which have...

Don't Miss